ME-juvination

In a world where technology and connectedness trump simplicity and solitude, we’re far more concerned with the battery life of our gadgets than we are with our own battery life.  Why aren’t we as religious about recharging ourselves as we are our precious iPhone or video baby monitor?

I mean, being a life-sustainer (aka mom) can be is hard work.  It is downright exhausting and often anxiety-producing to have a little, precious, breathing, growing human that depends on you…to survive24/7.  But just like the stupid video monitor I can’t live without, I need to recharge every once in a while, too. This past weekend I did just that.  I recharged with a weekend full of what summer in Maine is about.  Call it a ME-juvination.  And it was a beautiful thing.

IMG_2920photoIMG_2885

photo        IMG_9581

The little sister and her boyfriend were home from NYC for the weekend, so we dined on delicious homemade pizzas, wine and ice-cream sandwiches on our back deck at dusk while W slept.  I had an extra glass of wine and said eff-it to pumping. Freedom.  I also ate so many ice-cream sandwiches I thought I was going to puke.  Reckless.  We ate stupidly expensive and awesomely delicious lobster rolls at Fort Williams with W’s Great Grandmother.  Timeless.  We went swimming off the dock at Sebago Lake under the hot summer sun.  Refreshing.  The hubby stayed home with W so I could go to dinner with my family.  So, I drove to dinner by myself with every window down, the sunroof open and Pop2K BLARING on the radio while I screamed lyrics to songs from way back when.  Giddy.  The hubby stayed home again with W so I did the same thing on the way to lunch the next day on the deck at Portland Lobster Company, where I drank cold beer and ate friend Maine shrimp while grooving to Lyle Divinsky.  Soulful.  As the band played another set, I looked out onto Casco Bay I took a deep breath.  Mindful that my soul was full.  Exhale.

And I couldn’t wait to get back to my little love bug ❤

So here’s to being as anal about my own battery life as I am that stupid video monitor.

Yours fully,

momME

6 thoughts on “ME-juvination

  1. Maggie

    I love/ hate that monitor! I love when the battery dies and I have so much white noise on all over the house that I realize she could have been crying for hours and I would have never known…and yet she’s still sleeping when I look in. I want to go swimming in Sebago.

  2. Pingback: One revision “To My Post-Partum Self” | momMEmusings

  3. Ahhh!!! I love your post!!! And yes, it’s one of those skills new moms need to eventually learn. I spend almost every waking minute thinking about my son. My latest obsession is nutrition since he is 8 months. There are more questions than time to seek out the answers (should I be teaching him sign language?? Should I buy a dehydrator to make healthy snacks??). I really need to find a way to balance my obsession with giving him the best life possible, with continuing to be ‘me’. Thank you for sharing!! I look forward to reading more from you 🙂

      1. What a coincidence!! I still can’t believe how fast time is flying by. Yikes, first fever… important milestone I guess :-/ Good luck with that!

Leave a Reply

