Did you think I un-friended you?

My lack of presence in your newsfeed is not because I “unfriended” you, as one of my friends asked me.  However, since I probably have exactly three minutes to write this post before baby toddler W wakes up from his nap (yes, he turned 1 a little over a month ago [sob]) I’ll get right to the point.  On the 1-year anniversary of my entry into the blogosphere, after a 3 month hiatus, I have a request of you…I need your help.  Holding me accountable, that is.

Joy.  But, seriously, there’s far less commitment than you might imagine.  Read on.

If you’re anything like me, you likely know it’s easy to fail at goals you don’t tell anyone else about.  That’s because I pretty much thrive on being held accountable by someone…or to someone.  Someone other than myself, that is.  My fear of failure, or my desire to make others happy, is actually my greatest motivator.  (I’d like to think I do most things for my own betterment, but when I’m honest with myself, that’s just not the case.  I’m working on it, but that’s for another post.)

That’s where you come in, inter-webs and follower friends.  A place to cement my intentions and goals.  A place where I can’t take back what you’ve written.  A place to hold me accountable.

Without further ado…my resolutions are:

  1. Be more present (the former educator in me cringes at the vagueness of this resolution, and how challenging it will be to measure this…but)
  2. Write one blog post a week
  3. Read one book a month
  4. Get selfishly active 3x a week (that doesn’t mean lifting W, or taking him on a walk…that means exercise just for mommy!)

They’re not uber complicated or crazy.  Simple.  Realistic, I think.  My first step to making any of these happen?  Just write a fucking post already!  However short or poorly written this is, it’s intended to help me break the ice.  Otherwise, I just keep thinking to myself, Ugh, well I can’t write about Z without writing about X and Y first!  So, there are going to be many posts to come, highlighting all the fun and crazy things that have happened since my last post in early December (W’s first Christmas, learning to walk, I started working part-time, more drama related to his lip-tie, his first birthday, learning sign-language, our first family vacation to Disney, my creation of a cleaning chart…).

But, today, I’ll have to be satisfied with at least stating my intentions.

So, at the risk of letting myself down looking like a failure in front of others (a Type A person’s WORST NIGHTMARE), I’m now compelled to follow through on these things.  Because you’re waiting for updates on them, right?  ;0

Yours accountably,

MomME

5 thoughts on “Did you think I un-friended you?

  1. betsygott

    I have so many thoughts about this, and a couple questions…
    -I’m sometimes amazed when I read your posts and see bits and pieces of myself and my own Type A-ness reflected!!!
    -I too am sometimes unable to write because “I just don’t have time to get it out perfectly, beautifully, and memorably”. I put so much pressure on myself that I often end up writing nothing at all…which is exactly the opposite of why I started my blog in the first place 🙂 Thanks for the reminder, and the inspiration!
    -What kind of part time work are you doing?!
    -What kind of cleaning chart did you create? I’m currently failing miserably at that…

    1. Haha, I know, Betsy! I read your blog and think the same thing 🙂 Great minds 😉 I have to remind myself I’m not trying to make a living with my blog, but rather capture life…so perfection has no place here! You said it perfectly, an “imperfect” post is better than no post! And spending HOURS trying to write a post is also the opposite of the balance I’m looking for (hence the “be more present” resolution!)

      I started working 10hrs a week at Teach For All, which is the international parent organization for Teach For America (where I used to work). My old manager started working for them and asked if I wanted to do some part-time/consulting work and I said YES! So, I’m on the Talent Acquisition team and do things from reviewing applications, conducting interviews and designing learning and development materials like a scope and sequence for hiring manager training! it’s pretty fun!

      As for the cleaning log – I’ll have to see if I can post documents here or not, but, I just made it in Pages and laminated it. I designated the things I want to do on certain days of the week, and just use a dry erase marker to check off that it’s been done. You would love the http://iheartorganizing.blogspot.com blog. It’s pretty much the best thing a Type A person/teacher could ever want. Charts, and trackers and printables beyond your wildest dreams…all in beautiful colors and patters. SWOON!

  2. Kim Gambardella

    Great post!! You are such a good writer;) We go to 6am dynamics boot camp class if u ever want to cone… Crissy, Sheri, Teresa, and I.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    1. Thanks, Kim 🙂 Oh, man…I just might have to. I had a pass at their Forest Ave location so maybe they’ll carry over if they haven’t expired! Do you ever go on Fridays? Jason leaves for work by then so I’d have to go when he has a day off.

  3. Pingback: Resolution Update | momMEmusings

Leave a Reply

