Day 13 + 14: Sleep Regression Update

As I sat typing the Day 12 update yesterday I didn’t dare mention that I was doing so during W’s nap.  I was utterly terrified to jinx myself.

And, no joke, almost as soon as I just typed “jinx” W started crying again from what was looking like a promising Day 14 nap…seriously!?  Ok, so the direction of this post may change a bit and end up like an update on yesterday’s nap with an interjection of a play-by-play from today’s nap.

About as linear and cohesive as my mind is these days.  [Insert sarcasm.]

Minute 7 of Day 14 nap: still a little fussy…but still not screaming bloody murder.  Progress

Exhale.  I can resume typing.  So, where was I?  Oh, yes.  Day 13.  Lucky number 13.  Our glorious return to the land of afternoon slumbers.  I sat, almost frozen, on the couch for the entire hour and thirty minute nap.  Afraid that if I so much as sneezed I’d wake the sleeping dragon.  Alas, it wasn’t quite as relaxing as the nap times of long ago that I was drooling over days Days 1-12 of our nap regression.

And I’m interrupted again.

Minute 10 of Day 14 nap: another crying bout.

Minute 12 of Day 14 nap: still fussing and whining, “Mama, baby.  Mama, baby.”

Minute 14 of Day 14 nap: see above.

Sigh.  So, who knows how this will end.  But I’m determined to win and will let him be for at least an hour.  And tomorrow I will do our (slightly modified) nap routine again:

  1. Adventurous morning out and about (today was music class followed by Banjo Man at the library and a quick errand)
  2. Lunch at noon
  3. Play time depending on how tired he’s looking (today he was looking so tired!)
  4. Naptime routine – books, milk and [insert so many fake-turned-real-yawns] quiet time in his crib.  And telling him this order over, and over and over.  And over again.

Minute 18 of Day 14 nap: the crying has picked up a bit but is interrupted with his imitation of train sounds.  Sweet, but not leaving me feeling very hopeful.

I think I can, I think I can,

MomME

Minute 22 of Day 14 nap: still crying.

3 thoughts on “Day 13 + 14: Sleep Regression Update

  1. betsygott

    You can do it!!! We’ve left Charlotte for more than an hour before during a nap strike. Though she’s tired when she is allowed to emerge, if she was at all able to settle down and just play or talk quietly, it has still had a restorative effect. And then bedtime is just moved up earlier. Good luck!

  2. Pingback: Day 15-17: Sleep Regression Update | momMEmusings

Leave a Reply

