Tasty Tuesday: Baked Honey Mustard Chicken (with a grown-up twist!)

Photo Credit: Damn Delicious
Baked Honey Mustard Chicken                  Photo Credit: Damn Delicious

I admit.  I’m an avid Pinterest pinner.  Whether it’s beautifully coordinated clothes, amazingly expensive and impractical shoes I’ll never have the occasion to wear, make-up or hair that I’d have time to style only in my dreams, or decor that I’m sure I could pull off if I could just make it through Home Goods without a toddler on the tear…I’ll pin it.  No matter its likelihood of turning into a reality.

Recipes on Pinterest?  Well, they’re a different story.  

I’m actually totally on top of my meal-making game on Pinterest.  Yeah, sure, I’ll admit some are a disastrous flop.  But, many more have earned their way into my weekly line-up of meals or have become my go-to appetizers at parties.  Pinterest is definitely my first stop for meal-time inspiration.

 

My absolutely favorite Pinterest find is the incredibly delicious, oh-so-easy (to prep, multiply, prepare, clean up after) Baked Honey Mustard Chicken from Damn Delicious.

All you need are chicken thighs, several kinds of mustard (that you likely have in the pantry or are super inexpensive to buy – I use dijon, grainy dijon and honey mustard), honey, chicken stock, olive oil, salt/pepper (to taste) and a few rosemary sprigs.  And if you were wondering what the grown-up twist in this recipe was…there it is!  Rosemary!  Without being overpowering, the rosemary helps to mellow out the mustard and gives the dish an incredible aroma.

The best part is it is so easy to make.  Mix a few squeezes (read: tablespoons – I’m very Rachel Ray when I cook and mostly eye-ball stuff!) of each mustard, a few squeezes of honey, a dash of olive oil and 2 tablespoons of stock in a bowl, mix, and set aside.  I always make more of this mixture because, well, I love sauce.  Simple as that.  Then, rub the chicken thighs with a bit of mustard and some olive oil (both of these steps can be done well ahead of time or right before you’re ready to make dinner).  When it’s go-time, all you need to do is sear the chicken thighs for a few minutes on each side, dump your honey-mustard mix over it, throw a few rosemary sprigs on top and pop it in a 400 degree oven for about 15 minutes or until the thighs are done.  Whey they are done, the chicken is falling apart and drenched in this amazingly rich and kind of sophisticated sauce.

So fancy.  So easy.  So delicious.  Even little W ate it the other night (he prefers when I use less of the spicy dijon and more of the honey mustard in the sauce for those of you who might be modifying for younger palates).

Well.  My mouth is watering.  I’m pretty sure these will end up on the menu tonight.

Deliciously yours,

MomME

5 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday: Baked Honey Mustard Chicken (with a grown-up twist!)

  1. Mmmm….sounds delish! And easy 🙂 Question – do you use bone in thighs? Also have you ever tried this with boneless chicken breasts? Think it could work or would it be too dry?

    1. It.Is.The.BEST!!! I use the boneless chicken thighs, but yes, I think you could do this with chicken breasts, too. I’d make sure they were either pounded thin or split in half so they aren’t cooking for too long – drying them out and reducing the honey mustard sauce too long. You could also multiply the sauce recipe so that the breasts are more covered in the sauce, keeping them (gag, I hate this word) moist. I also try to cover the rosemary sprigs with a little sauce so they don’t burn in the over.

      This is AMAZING with cauliflower and parmesan mash, too!

      Enjoy!

  2. Pingback: Tasty Tuesday: Roasted Garlic & Cauliflower Mash with Parmesan Cheese | momMEmusings

Leave a Reply

