Day 18 – 20: [final installment] Sleep Regression Update

All seems right in the world when your kids takes their nap.  And that is hardly an exaggeration.  It’s been 5 days of easy-peasy-no-nursing-down-at-1pm naps and we are both loving the life of the rested.

For now.

They always say, just as you’ve settled into a comfortable routine and something feels easy…just wait a second and it will change.  [We say that about the weather here in Maine, too…awesome.]  I’m sure you can imagine how much my compulsive need to know and plan absolutely loves the certainty of ever-changing-uncertainty.

Nope.  Not at all.

But.  I’m actually getting better at rolling with the punches.  Nap time, though, was just NOT something that I was going to let roll out the door.  Instead, I did some contingency planning during Days 1-13 that allowed me to have a semblance of control over the day and a tad bit of personal time before 7pm.  And it involved setting my alarm for 5:45am to do my Tone It Up work out, write a blog post, whatever.

And even better than setting my alarm for 5:45 (I know, you’re thinking that pretty much everything is better than that…and I don’t disagree) was setting my automatic coffee maker for 5:40am!  No joke, I heard the coffee machine finish brewing and that was all the motivation I needed to groggily find my way to the kitchen, grunt a good-morning to my husband (who gets up at 5:15 every day…you’re so good, honey!) and head on downstairs to workout and rack up the steps on my FitBit (and my competitive nature loves trying to out-do myself with this little tracker!)

We all bend and adjust to the new and changing circumstances as best we can, even little W.  And sooner or later we all fall into a new normal that will, no doubt, change again soon.  Sigh.  But even though my early wake-up was only meant to be an interim modification to adjust to a no-nap scenario, I think it’s going to stick around even with nap time back in full-swing…

For now.

So, here’s to Day 21 of our (formerly known as) Nap Regression.

Gratefully yours,

MomME

 

Leave a Reply

