Tasty Tuesday: Roasted Garlic & Cauliflower Mash with Parmesan Cheese

Photo Credit: http://www.hummusapien.com/roasted-garlic-mashed-cauliflower-potatoes/
Roasted Garlic & Cauliflower Mash                                       Photo Credit: http://www.hummusapien.com

Chances are, if I’ve had you over for dinner, I served my Baked Honey Mustard Chicken alongside this decadent Roasted Garlic & Cauliflower mash.  The smell of roasted garlic mingles with the rosemary and, man oh man, it smells good.  Like been-cooking-all-day good.  Add a dash of something green to the plate (so you’re not serving a monochromatic meal) and you’ve got a (pretty healthy) serving of what I consider comfort food.

Rich.  Savory.  Flavorful.  Simple.

I tweak the dish a bit and leave out the milk, butter and yogurt because (1) my husband is borderline lactose intolerant and (2) I don’t always have milk on hand so I just improvise.  Instead?  I opt for a dash of chicken stock and a bit more olive oil – or nothing at all – depending on the consistency.  But honestly, the roasted garlic has such a rich and creamy flavor that I don’t even think the recipe needs the milk, butter or yogurt.  It is, however, ABSOLUTELY EVEN MORE AMAZING if you do add in a  bit of something creamy 🙂  If I’m making it for friends or girlfriends who aren’t lactose-intolerant (and I have the milk or creamer or yogurt on hand) I add it in without hesitation.

Either way, what I do add on top of my portion is a heaping handful of parmesan cheese.  It gets all melty-yummy on top and is just sublime.

So, don’t overlook that head of cauliflower at the grocery store next time!  It could be the the best vegetable dish you’ve served in a long time.  Love broccoli?  I’ve even roasted broccoli AND cauliflower and the mash was delicious, too!

Hungrily yours,

MomME

4 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday: Roasted Garlic & Cauliflower Mash with Parmesan Cheese

  1. Betsy Gott Follansbee

    OMG, too funny because when I planned my weekly meals last night, I decided to cook your honey mustard chicken this week. Now I know what I”ll serve with it! Thanks! Love these recipe shares 🙂

Leave a Reply

