Tasty Tuesday: Sweet Potato Hash with Caramelized Onions & Sweet Sausage

Sweet Potato Hash from http://www.thekitchn.com/brunch-recipe-s-162997
Sweet Potato Hash from http://www.thekitchn.com/brunch-recipe-s-162997

I absolutely love brunch.  It’s the perfect time of day.  It’s a socially acceptable time to drink.  And you can totally do sweet or savory.  The options are endless.  And that’s where I can get stuck sometimes…the options are endless and it’s always a tug-of-war with my taste buds.

Until I found this recipe for  Sweet Potato Hash with Caramelized Onions, Sausuage & Eggs.  And the tug-of-war ceased.  I can have it all after all.  Sweet and savory all rolled into one amazing dish.

This sweet potato hash pairs ooey-gooey caramelized onions…with crumbly fennel-filled sweet sausage…and aromatic roast garlic and rosemary.  And then you add a fried egg on top.  Whaaaaaaaaaat!?

I know.  I know.  My mind was blown when I read that for the first time, too, and I thought there was just no way this couldn’t get any better.

And then I ate it.  Hot out of the oven.  Sweet.  Savory.  Melt in your mouth and soaked in a fried egg.

It’s pretty much fifty shades of ahhhhhhhh-mazing.

This is the absolutely amazing re-heated in the cast iron for breakfast the next day.  And it’s also amazing for lunch.  Heck, why not make a day of it and have it for brinner (breakfast for dinner!), too!?  We have been eating hash pretty much for every meal since yesterday.  And I promise you’ll want to triple the recipe and savor it for days, too.  And days.  But I can’t promise there will actually be any left by then.  Between the three of us, 8 servings was gone in about 36 hours.

There’s no shame in my game.  It’s just that good.

My only modifications?  I shred my sweet potatoes in the Cuisinart.  I (at least) double the olive oil I add to the sweet potatoes.  I spray the cookie sheets so the hash doesn’t stick.  And, I use fresh sweet sausage from Rosemont Market (our local food market) and I truly think that makes all the difference.

So.  Next time the weatherman is calling for snow?  Or you’re having company over?  Or it’s a holiday?  Or just because you love amazing food…head to the grocery store and stock up.

It won’t disappoint.  I promise.

Brunch-tastically yours,

MomME

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

